Medicating pellets

Pbh

I have a goby in qt who seems to prefer pellets to frozen food. How can I medicate pellets? Do I just add water to the usual scoop of GC and scoop of focus to tablespoon of pellet food?

hikari says to use grain alcohol to medicate pellets
What would folks here suggest?

Also hi, it’s my first post here!

scubabeth

Hi there,, @Pbh! Welcome to the forum! This is a great place to be, and loads of friendly people with good advice for you. :D Unfortunately, while I can wish you a friendly welcome, I've no experience with medicating pellets. I'm sure someone else will be by later to steer you in the right direction, though!

Humblefish

Dr. Fish
My recipe for food soaking metro (and prazi) can be found below:

Using a shot glass:
1 scoop (~ 1/8 teaspoon) of medication (Metroplex or General Cure)
1 scoop Seachem Focus (this makes it reef safe)
1 Tbsp food (preferably pellets or frozen food)
A pinch of Epsom salt to help expel dead worms/parasites
A few drops of saltwater or fish vitamins
Stir until a medicated food slurry has been achieved.
Feed after soaking for 30 mins.
Refrigerate or freeze any leftovers for future use.

You can feed this mix 1-2 times per day. Not recommend to exceed 2 feedings per day with medicated food.

Pbh

Thanks Bobby- I’ve read those instructions so many times but never absorbed that pellets were included in them!

As it turns out the goby doesn’t prefer pellets to frozen, he just doesn’t like the taste of GC or fenbendazole, no matter how much selcon and garlic xtreme I add :rolleyes:But he eats a little bit ifnthe
Medicated food and his poop has gone from white and stringy to black and stringy so I take it as a good sign! 🤞

Pbh