Question of the Day Nutrients.... Do you Export them?

Users who are viewing this thread

saf1

Country flag
Yes, a bit. Skimmer. Water changes when I remember although it is usually once a month. I'm not an expert here but I do not believe water changes are a good form of exporting nutrients based on total water volume and what we replace. So I'll say skimmer is my main method of exporting things it does. I am trying a wetter skimmate this month to see how it goes.

I've had a bout of cyano going for a few months now and not really sure what it is related to. Could be side effect of high phosphates (.24 ppm) or too low of nitrate (2 ppm). Or possibly related to my initial dosing / switch to TM AFR. It comes and goes but is always present so as a test I decided to try and bring down my phosphate just a bit. I'm using TM Elimi-NP and will see if that does anything. I could use phosphate rx which will bring it down quickly but wanted to try something slower first.

Since you mentioned the Oceamo analysis:

Salinity is 33.4 (Hanna, Miluakee, and plastic swing arm for me report 35 ppt)
Alk, Ca, and Mg matched my Trident interesting enough - this was nice
Low Fluoride, Molybdenum, Rubidium - recommended dose to increase over x days
High phosphate / slightly elevated

Badilac

Country flag
Yes, a bit. Skimmer. Water changes when I remember although it is usually once a month. I'm not an expert here but I do not believe water changes are a good form of exporting nutrients based on total water volume and what we replace. So I'll say skimmer is my main method of exporting things it does. I am trying a wetter skimmate this month to see how it goes.