Red Sea Rostatos Reefer 450

Users who are viewing this thread

Hi all. I’ve been reefing for about 10 years but only 3 years of hard core coral growing.

I’m copying my build thread from another forum so some posts may not make 100% sense. I’ll try my best.

I upgraded from the reefer 250 for a 450 and recently added a 170 for zoas and LPS.

Here was my Reefer 250 in April 2020
474262CE-77D8-41BE-9EFC-C87A7E93D907.jpeg

Here was moving day and transfer day for the 450
8894BAB0-0E57-403A-9EFE-3D8C14518CE8.jpeg
C2204426-0660-4015-B0D9-3058DF8097FE.jpeg
AAF4ABB1-2FA2-41C2-87D3-B2EEC844A06C.jpeg
E653414D-2114-44FC-8BB0-E6E2416891AE.jpeg

0897CC7B-3FCB-4807-B184-E38C6BC26F92.jpeg
AB1D04C5-5FA8-44BA-925E-C46EC7ED9BC2.jpeg

Last edited:

Rostato

Reef Nerd
Country flag
The tank is bare bottom because I feed a lot and like lots of flow.

Current equipment
Tank
Reefer 450

Lights
2 Gen 4 XR30’s with diffuser controlled by the Neptune WXM
1 Gen 4 XR15 with diffuser controlled by the Neptune WXM
Neptune LSM for moonlight

Flow
2 Maxspect gyre xf330’s running the 24 hr lunar tidal mode
2 Mp40’s controlled by the Neptune WXM
2 Ecotech battery backups

Filtration
Filter cups with filter floss changed every 3 days
BRS reactor running a mix of rowaphos and rox carbon changed every 2 weeks
Reef Octopus 150SSS Skimmer with neck cleaner
No fuge, no algae scrubber, nothing

Heat/Cooling
Ranco dual temp controller
Finnex 500w and 300w titanium rods
Neptune Apex as backup
Cheap Amazon fan for during the summer controlled by the ranco

Dosing
Dastaco c2 calcium reactor
Avast marine kalkwasser reactor
Neptune DOS
The DOS doses 2,200ml of Kalk per day on one head and the other is hooked up to Tropic Marines All for Reef as a back up to everything.

Control
Neptune Apex classic with lots of modules and Eb8 and an eb4

Extras
Kh Guardian for alk tests every 4 hours
BRS co2 scrubber recirculating through the skimmer. Media changed every month

Last edited:

Rostato

Reef Nerd
Country flag