Why is Ruby Reef Rally bath not the first step?

Users who are viewing this thread

adobo

Country flag
When receiving fish from a source that does not do any proactive disease prevention, why is the first step of chemoprophylaxis not a formalin or ruby reef rally bath? Then step 2 would be to put the fish fish a quarantine tank that has copper and then being metro dosing?

Jessican

Sheriff
Country flag
A formalin bath is the recommended first step for uronema-prone species, such as chromis. IMO, though, it’s much harsher than necessary in other cases. I personally would choose to do a peroxide bath as my first step.

saf1

Country flag
I am by no means an expert here nor claim to be. However, I read years ago about Mr. Fenner's dips and baths using methylene blue. I was always against doing fresh water dips or baths but after reading on it a few more times it started to make sense. Assuming he is correct that it is a good oxygenating dye it made sense to me how it works and interacts with the fish.

I always found it more stressful for me to do than it was for the fish. Although to be honest maybe they hate it and just can't communicate it back. I have tried to leave a pad of paper and pencil so they can provide feedback but nope, nothing. This last week I put through the surge damsel and 7 sapphires and all went well. Sapphires though - they sure did jump a lot so much that I had to move them to a 5 gallon bucket so they wouldn't get out.

In my mind or at least the way I think about it is that if the fish can't make it through the 8 to 30 minute dip or bath they won't make it through anything else. So far it has worked for me with only one fatality and that was a purple tang. I would wager had one of the better hobbyists here that have good isolation protocols and understanding the right med for the issue could have saved it. Me, on the other hand, was not able to.

Jessican

Sheriff
Country flag